All Ready For Team Relay on Friday @3:15

Friday will bring the first of three races that Fort Lewis’ Cycling team will be competing in during the 2014 USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Championships.  For the first time USA Cycling is holding a Collegiate Cyclo-cross Team Relay.  It will be similar to the Team Relay that our 2013 Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championship team competed in.  The race will be 4 laps, two must be completed by men and two by women.  FLC will be sending Sofia Gomez Villafane, Brittany Clawson, Skyler Trujillo, and Kolben Preble to the start line to represent this years Cyclo-cross Nationals Team.  This race will be adding a whole new level of team tactics.  All teams get to choose the starting order of their riders, which could paly a big roll in determining the outcome of the race.  The other interesting rule is that the rider on course must cross the start/finish line before the following rider crosses the line and begins their lap . This allows for the next rider to start their lap at full speed, riding inches behind their teammate as they cross the line.  However, if their timing is off and the pervious rider doesn’t cross the line first then the team receives  a 10 second penalty at the end of the race.

We will announce our starting order tomorrow on Twitter and Facebook once they gett called to the start line, so keep posted.  A full list of the rules can be found here.       (Team Relay Guidlines)

Check out the   COURSE MAP!

On Saturday morning our ladies are set to battle it out in the Collegiate Women’s DI race, which is scheduled to start at 11:30.  The guys will have to wait until Sunday when they compete in the D1 Collegiate Mens race, with its start time at 10AM.  A complete race schedule can be found HERE.

Here are some racers representing Durango well during Thursday’s races!