Skyhawk Cycling Names MTB Nationals Team

The Fort Lewis College Cycling Team has chosen the squad that will Randy Manualrepresent the Skyhawks at the upcoming 2015 USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike Nationals in Snowshoe, WV Oct. 23-25.  The team will be seeking to regain the Team Overall title after relinquishing it last year for the first time in 9 years to CU Boulder. Choosing a team to represent the Skyhawks are some of the toughest decisions that coaches (Nick Gould, Elke Brutsaert, Lucas LeMaire, Phil Cowan and Brittany Clawson) ever have to make simply because there are so many talented riders to choose from.
Last weekend in Angel Fire, NM at Adams State’s home meet he Skyhawks won the Division 1 Rocky Mountain Collegiate Cycling Conference (RMCCC) team overall title, endurance racer Stephan Davoust won the Men’s A title and the Skyhawks had many individual podiums, both men and women, in the series overall rankingsFLC Cycling won the title over strong teams from the University of Colorado, Colorado State University and Colorado Mesa University Having such good competition in the RMCCC is great preparation for the National competitions against not only top teams for the RMCCC but teams from perennial national powerhouses Marian University, Lees McRae College and Lindsay Wilson College.
At Nationals FLC will compete in Gravity events –  Downhill (DH) and Dual Slalom (DS) and Endurance events, Cross Country (XC) and Short Track XC (ST). Team Relay (TR) is a fun that Pis teams of 4 riders from each school with a female rider having to do at least 2 laps and does count in the team omnium standings. Each Collegaite team is allowed to bring 10 riders of each gender to compete in these events. Some riders are very adept at both Gravity and Endurance and will be competing in both disciplines in search of an Individual Omnium (IO) title. The Skyhawk’s lone defending individual champion is Sofia Gomez Villafane in the Female Individual Omnium.
There are a few ways to keep up with the team before and during the competitions. The teams blog site will have daily pictures and updates at, on Facebook by liking or following on Twitter and Instagram @FLCCYCLING. Official results and stories can be found on

Sofia Gomez Villafane – XC, ST, DH, DS, IO

Becky Gardener – DH, DS

Leila Carrillo – DH, DS
Elizabeth Endersbe – XC, ST, DH, DS, IO
Caroline Endersbe – XC, ST
Jenna MacPherson – XC, ST
Kelsay Lundberg – XC, ST
Zach Graveson – DH, DS
Joe Crosby – DH, DS
Brian White – DH, DS
Bryce Hermanussen – DH, DS

Stephan Davoust – XC, ST, DH, DS, IO

Michael Sampson – XC, ST, DH, DS, IO

Payson McElveen – XC, ST
Lucas Rowton – XC, ST
Ryan Standish – XC, ST
Tyler Jones – XC, ST
Elke Brutsaert – Team Manager, Women’s Coach
Nick Gould – Men’s Endurance Coach
Lucas LeMaire – Men’s Gravity Coach
Phil Cowan – Men’s Gravity Coach
Brittany Clawson – Women’s Assistant Coach
Anthony Diaz – Mechanic
Max Thilen – Media
Please wish the team luck on their travels and performances.