Announcing the 2016 Road Nationals Team

The FLC Cycling Team has just finished the Rocky Mountain _A060548Collegiate Cycling Conference (RMCCC) road racing season at Colorado Mesa University and has put together the team that’ll represent Fort Lewis College at USA Cycling Collegiate Road Nationals May 13-15 in Asheville, NC, the second year in a row the championships have been held there.

The Cycling Skyhawks finished second as a team to the University of_A060079 Colorado Boulder in the final RMCCC Division 1 standings after 4 weekends of racing. “Our conference season was a strange one with three cancelled weekends of racing on the front range because of weather. We adapted by doing some inter-squad racing, made it to a demanding USA Cycling race in Utah and practiced our Team Time Trial quite a bit. We worked well together as a team during the season and are quite confident that we’ll see some stellar performances in Asheville.” said FLC Cycling Road Coach, Ian Burnett.

The FLC Cycling staff has spent most of the last 48 hours mulling over this season results, past results and the character of the large pool possible student athletes to represent. The following student _A060345athletes will compete in the Individual Time Trial (ITT), Team Time Trial (TTT), Criterium(CR) and Road Race (RR) in and around Asheville. The ITT does not count toward the elusive overall team omnium, but may in the future. The team will be looking for some redemption from last year after being stifled by the heat and some bad luck. “Picking a Nationals Team out of so many deserving riders is one of the toughest parts of the job but I think we did a great job of picking riders best suited to the courses and conditions while also working well as a team. We have many riders returning from last year’s squad and boy, we are going to miss our seniors next year, but have some very strong underclassmen, too”, said Coach Burnett, “things have been coming together for the team this Spring and if the breaks go our way we have a good shot at the team title.”

Sofia Gomez Villafane – SR – CA – TTT, CR, RR
Casey Hynes – SR – CO – TTT, RR
Jenna MacPherson – SR – ID – TTT, CR, RR
Sydney Edmonson – SO – CO – CR, RR
Emily Abraham – FR - CA – TTT, CR, RR
Cormac McGeough – SO – CO – TTT, RR
Kolben Preble – SR – OR - ITT
Emmanuel Gagne – SO – Canada – CR, RR, ITT
Ian McPherson – SO – CO – TTT, CR, RR
Troy Meeker – SR – CO - ITT
Ryan Standish – SR – CA – TTT, CR, RR
Thomas Gauthier – FR – Canada – RR, ITT
Payson McElveen – SR – TX – TTT, CR, RR
Stephan Davoust – JR – Durango – CR, ITT

Wish the team luck at Nats and for the latest on the action be sure to keep an eye on for blog updates, the team Facebook page: and twitter: @flccycling.

More info on USA Cycling Collegiate Road Nationals can be found at:

Photo Courtesy Alpine Shutterworks (Connor Hodge)

Contact:Ian Burnett, 970-799-4703,


Dave Hagen, 970-403-4842,