2017 Zia Taqueria Four Corners CX Series

Keep an eye on the CX Series page for weekly updates: http://cycling.fortlewis.edu/4ccx

There are 6 Saturday races and 1 Sunday in the series starting with fan favorite Dolores at Joe Rowell Park on Nov. 4 (See flyer below). The series makes an early visit to the Shaefer Property in Pagosa Springs on Nov. 11 and then onto the hallowed CX terrain on the Fort Lewis College Campus for the FLCCX on Nov. 18. We’ll take a weekend off to eat a bunch then head to the demanding course at Parque Da Vida in Cortez on Dec. 2. One more stop at FLC on Dec. 9 to prepare the final big weekend.  On Saturday Dec. 16 the New Mexico State CX Championships will be held on the Williams Property (Hydropure Technology) down in Aztec, NM – all will need USA Cycling Licenses and keep an eye out for online pre reg. The following day on Sunday Dec. 17 the annual Whiskey Run and the Zia Taqueria 4CCX Finals will be back in Aztec on the Williams property again. The series wraps up with a series awards party on Monday Dec. 18. At 6pm at Carver’s.

Tell your friends that don’t have CX bikes that 29er MTBs work great for CX and a little skinnier tire even better. CX is fun, right?

Again this year are kids races at select races – keep an eye out for more information, most likely the FLC races but maybe others. There will be categories for 9 and under and 10-14. Mountain bikes are welcome. Riders under 18 are always free!

Zia Taqueria is the presenting sponsor this year so eat there more than you do already!

All races are $25 and no license is required, except for the NM State Champs.

Start times are as follows for all races unless otherwise noted on individual race flyers:

10:00am – Kids Races (at select venues)

11am – Open Women, B Men, 55+ Men

12noon – Open Men, 40+ Men

2017 Zia Taqueria 4CCX Schedule

11/4 – Dolores CX – Joe Rowell Park – 17 Dolores Cross – Final – This is the Dolores flyer and take note of start times

11/11 – Pagosa CX – Shaefer Property (2445 CR 400)

11/18 – FLC CX – Ray Denison Memorial Field

12/2 – Cortez – Parque da Vida

12/9 – FLC CX – Ray Denison Memorial Field

12/16 – USAC NM State Champs – Aztec – Williams Property (Saturday)

12/17 – Aztec Whiskey Run – 4CCX Finals – Aztec – Williams Property (Sunday)

Awards – Monday 12/18 – Carver Brewing Co, 6pm

Other sponsors that support the series:

Skyhawk Cycling

Animas Orthopedic Associates

Mountain Bike Specialists

Carver Brewing Co

King Cage

2nd Ave Sports

Iron Horse Bicycle Classic

Durango Cyclery

Last but surely not least, Chip Peddler

Keep an eye on the CX Series page for weekly updates: http://cycling.fortlewis.edu/4ccx

For more info contact Dave Hagen – hagen_d@fortlewis.edu

Skyhawks Name 2017 MTB Nats Team


October 18, 2017

Skyhawk Cycling Names Mountain Bike Nationals Team

Contact: Dave Hagen, 970-403-4842, hagen_d@fortlewis.edu

The Fort Lewis College Cycling Team has chosen the squad that will represent the Skyhawks at the upcoming 2017 USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike Nationals in Missoula, Montana Oct. 19-22.  The team will be seeking to regain the Team Overall title after relinquishing it last year for the first time in 9 years to CU Boulder. Choosing a team to represent the Skyhawks are some of the toughest decisions that coaches (Chad Cheeney, Elke Brutsaert, Lucas LeMaire, Zach Graveson, Phil Cowan and Brittany Cowan) ever have to make simply because there are so many talented riders to choose from.

At the last Conference race at Powderhorn Bike Park in Grand Junction, Colorado Mesa University’s (CMU) home meet the Skyhawks won the Division 1 Rocky Mountain Collegiate Cycling Conference (RMCCC) team overall title. Edging out Colorado University and CMU by close margins. Endurance racer Henry Nadell sealed up the season overall Men’s A title with a close win in the Short Track over teammate and former conference leader Stephan Davoust. On the Gravity side, the Skyhawks have one of the deepest Womens team in history, with McCauley Smith, Local Lacey Andersen and Freshman Elle Runyan, all season conference race winners and podium finishers and most events. Having such good competition in the RMCCC is great preparation for the National competitions against not only top teams for the RMCCC but teams from perennial national powerhouses Marian University, Lees McRae College and Brevard College.

At Nationals FLC will compete in Gravity events –  Downhill (DH) and Dual Slalom (DS) and Endurance events, Cross Country (XC) and Short Track XC (ST). Team Relay (TR) is a fun team event that places teams of 4 riders from each school with a female rider having to do at least 2 laps and does count in the team omnium standings. Each Collegiate team is allowed to bring 10 riders of each gender to compete in these events. Some riders are very adept at both Gravity and Endurance and will be competing in both disciplines in search of an Individual Omnium (IO) title. Both Anna Scheher and Stephan Davoust will be competing in the IO for FLC. Three freshman made the team this year, Locals and former Durango Devo athletes, Katja Freeburn and Camryn Sippy, and Washington Native Elle Runyan for the Women, along with Jason Rowton from California for the Men. The Skyhawk’s lone defending individual champion is Stephan Davoust in the Men Individual Omnium. Currently the Skyhawks are the #2 ranked Collegiate program in the nation.


There are a few ways to keep up with the team before and during the competitions. You can keep up with the Skyhawks on Facebook by liking http://www.facebook.com/FLCCyclingTeam or following on Twitter and Instagram @FLCCYCLING. Official results and stories can be foundhttps://www.usacycling.org/2017/collegiate-mtb-national


Anna Scheher – XC, ST, DH, DS, IO

Lacey Andersen – DH, DS

McCauley Smith – DH, DS

Libby Endersbe – DH, DS,

Elle Runyan – DH, DS

Carly Endersbe – XC, ST

Camryn Sippy – XC, ST

Katja Freeburn – XC, ST

Ellen Campbell -XC, ST

Kelsey Lundberg – XC, ST

Jaren Lockwood– DH, DS

Shane Ellis – DH, DS

Ben Bennett – DH, DS

Drey Smith – DH, DS

Bryce Hermanussen – DH, DS

Stephan Davoust – XC, ST, DS, IO

Jason Rowton – XC, ST

Nash Dory – XC, ST

Cole Paton – XC, ST

Henry Nadell – XC, ST



Dave Hagen – Program Director

Elke Brutsaert – Team Manager, Women’s Coach

Chad Cheeney – Endurance Coach, Social Media

Lucas LeMaire – Gravity Coach

Zach Graveson – Gravity Coach

Carson Jones-Wilkins – Mechanic


Please wish the team luck on their travels and performances.